Historic Preservation Commission


  • 5:30 p.m.
  • 2nd Monday of each month
  • City Hall Conference Room at 825 Broadway Street

View Agendas, Packets, and Minutes

  1. Bryce Johnson

    Zoning Administrator


Members are appointed by the Mayor, subject to City Council approval, for three-year terms.

NameTerm ExpiresPhone
Email Bruce BoertjeJanuary 1, 2022641.628.8000
VacantJanuary 1, 2021N/A
Email Rhonda Kermode (Chair)January 1, 2021641.628.2675
Email Don AndréJanuary 1, 2022641.230.0128
Email Lila Turnbull (Vice-Chair)January 1, 2021641.780.7666


The Historic Preservation Commission was established in 2014 and is currently a 5-member board.


  • Conduct studies for the identification and designation of historic districts and landmarks. Make a recommendation to the State Historic Preservation Office for the listing of a historic district or landmark in the National Register of Historic Places and may conduct a public hearing thereon.
  • Make a recommendation to the Planning and Zoning Commission and City Council on the adoption of ordinances designating historic landmarks and historic districts if they qualify as per established Historic District ordinance.
  • Provide information for the purpose of historic preservation to the City Council.
  • Promote and conduct an educational and interpretive program on historic properties within its jurisdiction.