Go To Search
Click to Home
No Current Alerts
RSSEmail FriendPrint Page
Community Development Committee
  • 5:30 pm
  • Second Wednesday of each month
  • Public Safety Complex
    614 Main St.
    Pella, IA 50219
Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to board meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are also available upon approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All



Term Expiration

Originally Appointed

Phone Number 

Jerry Brummel August 1, 2020 August 3, 2004 641.780.0354
Patsy Cody - Chair August 1, 2019 May 6, 2003  641.780.2007
Linda Groenendyk August 1, 2019 June 5, 2012 641.628.6653
Phil Groenendyk*        August 1, 2018 August 18, 2015 641.891.5118
Mike Kiser August 1, 2019 November 18, 2003 641.275.0789
Jody Lautenbach* August 1, 2018 August 21, 2012 641.780.5339
Wayne Stienstra August 1, 2018 January 7, 2003 641.780.4650
Robyn Van Berkum August 1, 2020 August 3, 2004 641.628.9210
Dennis Vander Beek August 1, 2018 August 15, 2006 641.780.6568
*Extraterritorial Member

The Community Development Committee was established in 1978 and is an 11-member board that consists of nine city members and two members from Marion County extraterritorial jurisdiction who are appointed by the City Council and serve a three-year term.

The purpose of the Community Development Committee (CDC) is to preserve and promote the unique charm, atmosphere, quaint and romantic character, natural beauty, and historical aspects of the Pella Business Districts. The CDC reviews design permits and sign permits. The Design Review District Design Manual contains the design parameters for architecture and signage and works together with the Design Review Overlay District and signage regulations. Architecture and signage subcommittees exist so minor architectural projects and sign permits can be reviewed quickly usually without having to go to full committee. The design permit application lists the major and minor permit types.